Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Anything Goes.

Messing with computers

  #1  
Old 06-11-2012, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 537
Default Messing with computers

One of these days playing around, and messing/ modifying/ hacking computers is going to catch up with me.

This afternoon, I overclocked my wireless N router. Quadrupled the speed output for both upload and download speeds.

IN the process of doing that I stumbled upon the modem connection speed settings and found a way to bypass the speed my internet provider has limited through it. 2 clicks and I can unlock it....I don't want to try it, but interesting that I found it.

----------------

To the computer gurus...what odd things have you stumbled upon??
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-2012, 02:51 PM
Thebasslevel's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Default

be careful trying to bypass anything set by the isp...those sons of guns will find any reason to jack your prices haha
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-2012, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 537
Default

well, im already paying for 100mbs flow, which is more than enough for me, but I can't connect to an ethernet cable because of the location it was first set up in my townhouse. So I boosted the wireless speeds much closer to what im paying for.

Im surprised they do not encrypt the access.

I am still having problems trying to link the xbox to the laptop, but thats for another day.
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-2012, 11:47 AM
Thebasslevel's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by Lifesgoodhere View Post
well, im already paying for 100mbs flow, which is more than enough for me, but I can't connect to an ethernet cable because of the location it was first set up in my townhouse. So I boosted the wireless speeds much closer to what im paying for.

Im surprised they do not encrypt the access.

I am still having problems trying to link the xbox to the laptop, but thats for another day.
I could help ya out with that whenever, what OS are ya running?
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-2012, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 537
Default

windows 7.

I was doing some checking and the modem im renting from comcast is a version 2.0 (forgot the rest don't feel like going back upstairs and checking) Which may be telling the router to cut down the n signal

OK this n router now it won't broadcast on n, but on g it is very fast, just i can't get a signal in a couple spots.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
TacklaNHL
For Sale / Trade
0
08-05-2010 10:54 AM
driveavolvo
Volvo S60 & V60
0
08-31-2009 10:22 PM
crad159
Volvo 240, 740 & 940
5
03-03-2009 09:23 AM
Typhoon
Volvo 240, 740 & 940
1
12-18-2007 12:23 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Messing with computers


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.