'89 240 running strange, occasional 1-1-3

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2015, 04:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '89 240 running strange, occasional 1-1-3

Hey guys,

I'm going to try to include as much information as possible here, I've been scratching my head with this car for the past 3 months. My 1989 (non turbo, m46) 240 started idling high about 3 months ago, so I did the standard stuff, replace flame trap, clean throttle body, clean IAC, etc. I got the idle down for a while, but then it started having this weird problem where the idle surges when I'm in neutral, but only if the car is moving. So for example, if I just roll out of my driveway in neutral, the idle will jump to maybe 1600 or so RPM (my tach only works when it wants to), until I bring the car to a full and complete stop. At that point it goes back down to about 850 or so, which I think is somewhat normal. That happens always though, when the car is cold, warm, no matter what. If the car is moving in neutral, the idle is really high.

The problems don't stop there. If I disconnect the battery and allow the ECU to reset, it takes a lot of doing to get the car to idle again. I'll start it, and it'll hunt for maybe 10 seconds and then it dies. If I start it around 12 more times, it will figure out what it needs to do and then it will start to idle. To my ear, the idle is a little high, but I can't say for sure because of the wonky tach. About half of the time I do this (I keep disconnecting the battery to replace parts I think could be the culprit), it will throw a 1-1-3 code. I tested the o2 sensor by monitoring the voltage, and it was swinging from about 0.2v to about 0.7v, which I think is normal. That makes sense, because the sensor is only 5 months old (Bosch OEM style).