all electric gone Back then gone

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2005, 04:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default all electric gone Back then gone

1990 740 volvo wagon
Was running fine then all electric left. Not even 4 way flashers worked. Then a faint tink sound and all was back Ran fine again then that tink sound and all electric gone.
Is their a circut breaker working someware? Now all electric is gone and staying dead.[]

Old 12-20-2005, 09:21 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: all electric gone Back then gone

Check the connections at the battery and starter and alternator.

Old 12-21-2005, 12:17 PM

WELL
I have been pulling wrenches for 35 years so when it quit on me in town I had some time to go over all the stuff I could think of.
This is the first volvo I have owned so a lot of the electrical is new stuff to me. I did check the bat (remove& replace the well greased terminals) .
I also checked the alt connections, And all Other connections under the hood.
I then took apart some of the dash and found and checked the fuses and relays as best I could.
The entire fuse panel seems to be dead no elect any where.
This car started acting up before I went to town . It would start fine and run until I put to much of a load on the electrical system, Run fan on high turn on lights = faint tink and all electric gone.
Sounded like a turn signal flasher clicking one time.
After it had time to cool down another tink can be herd and all the juice comes back .
The tink seemed to be coming from the fuse panel aria but it might have been more to the right or perhaps on the other side of the fire wall.
From all my tests I think their is some sort of power relay which when hot will chop power to the entire car. The 4 ways won't even come on.
This has me mystified as I am not familiar with what all bosh and volvo have done to this car.
What ever this is, it has clicked it's last and now must be found, as the car has no electric at all .