In the market for a 240

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2009, 11:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default In the market for a 240

Hello,

I currently drive a 94 Benz e320 and I love the car it is just a little rough around the sheet metal for me (rust). I am going to sell it and am looking to get a 240 in good shape. i would prefer a Turbo version but would be OK with just getting the best looking 240 stick that I can find for the money and doing a swap down the road. My background is I am good at engine rebuilds and have done a dozen of them including my 3.2 variable timed 24 valve Merc. If I do a swap I will look for a donor car and pull the engine trans and anything else that should go over and do a complete overhaul with forged pistons, polished and planned head, header, under pulley, high flow exhaust (but balanced) inner cooled and a bit more boost than normal but nothing too crazy, clutch plate and throwout bearings. I will start overhauling the car almost immediately to improve body stiffness and handling. Stiffer sway bars tighter and a bit lower springs (again nothing too crazy) slotted/drilled rotors hefty calipers, Strut towers and such. I would prefer to have the handling and braking to handle 225HP before I put that much power into the car.

So here is my question. I know my E320 in and out but I know virtually nothing about the Volvo 240's. So what do I need to know.

What do I stay away from.

What were the best years for the 240 with Turbo.

Are there any major road blocks to swapping a turbo setup to a normally aspirated 240.

What do I need to know that I don't even know to ask about.

Any and all help will be welcome. I am about 2 months away from seriously searching for the right car, and it has to be the right one. So I am just getting info and trying to get as much knowledge as possible.

Thanks for any input,

Gary

Last edited by gedaggett; 07-18-2009 at 11:07 PM.
Old 07-19-2009, 03:11 AM
Got Boost?
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts