Seeking opinions on buying a '93 240 wagon

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2008, 07:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seeking opinions on buying a '93 240 wagon

Hi. Newbie here. I'm shopping for a reliable second car/babysitter car. There's a 1993 Volvo 240 wagon for sale near me, and I have an appointment to look at it in a couple days. It's said to have 130K miles and be in good shape all around.
Can anyone suggest model-specific issues I should be looking for in my visual inspection and test drive? Would anyone like to opine on whether I'm out of my mind -or completely brilliant- to consider a '93 240 wagon as our back-up vehicle?
Anyone have experience with this model year? All opinions welcome.

Thanks,

CP

Old 12-09-2008, 08:14 PM
Got Boost?
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Seeking opinions on buying a '93 240 wagon

Nice choice.

You should have no problems with the car, as long as the previous owner took care of it.
130k miles.....that car is just waking up. These cars can easily get over 500k miles.
When you go for the test drive, drive it normally at first, and get a feel on how she behaves. Then drive her a bit hardder, and see how she behaves, and you will find out very quickly if it will have any potention problems. As far as the visual inspection goes, Just look out for signs of neglect.Feel the hoses in the engine bay. Check the engine bay for any leaks...ect, and look under the car for any sgins of leaksor rust.Ask the seller about the maintenance history.
You should have no problems with the car as long as you do regular maintenance andput some TLC (time love and care).

Good Luck.

Old 12-09-2008, 10:01 PM

I've had four 240 Volvos, and now drive a 1993 240 wagon (with 132,000 miles on it!). I've never driven a Volvo as a "back-up" car, and my wagon is my primary driver.