Stereo Install problem - powers on for only 5 seconds

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2010, 07:47 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stereo Install problem - powers on for only 5 seconds

I am a newbie to this forum, but am attempting to install a cd-player into my 83 volvo 240 dl wagon. When I hooked it up I get enough power that the clock display will turn on for about 5 seconds then the screen will turn off. The screen only turns back on if you hit the eject or display button but will then go black again. (It seems like there is only enough power to run the clock?)

The wiring is a bit confusing so this could be the problem, but it seems wierd that I get power for a couple seconds. If you have any suggestions let me know. Also, should the car battery be unhooked while dealing the stereo power cable? Don't want to get fried....

Old 01-27-2010, 08:33 PM
Got Boost?
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I haven't done the 244 stereo yet, so I am not sure on the wiring hook ups.

It is good practice to unhook the battery cable whenever working on the car or electrical. What kind of headunit? where did you tap in for the power?
when are you testing so it only displays 5sec... Car on or off?

Wait for the experts to get on.

Old 01-27-2010, 10:55 PM

I will try to answer those questions:
I tapped into a black wire that we measured to have 12 volts, so is likely attached to the battery. I also had the grounding wire hooked up. In order for the deck to turn on, the key must be in the ignition but it does not matter whether the ignition was on or off. There was also a mysterious green wire that does not appear to be a speaker wire. I am using a brand new JVC cd player from best buy -- JVC 50W x 4 MOSFET In-Dash CD Deck.

Old 01-28-2010, 02:08 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by theFridge
I will try to answer those questions: