Timing belt change + other misc.

Old 01-31-2011, 10:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing belt change + other misc.

So it's time to change the timing belt. I've never done this before, so it should be a great learning experience. I've read the summary on changing the belt about 20 times now, and have the timing belt, the front engine seals, water pump, tensioner, ac belt and the alternator belt in my cart at FCPgroton as we speak.

Here's my question for the community, do you have any routine maintenance that you do or tips that you have found valuable when changing the timing belt? I think I'll give the "rope trick" a try as it sounds logical, many have had success using it, and it's cheap.

Also, since I am purchasing enough from fcp to get free shipping, is there anything else on a 20 year old volvo that could use replacing? Especially anything that I'll have access to while changing the timing belt?

Hopefully I can get enough input on the subject to compile all the info and create a "canned" response for people with the same questions in the future.

Thanks a million.

Old 01-31-2011, 01:15 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You might consider motor mounts. I did not use aftermarket parts for this. It is not a bad job. Try lifting the engine with engine hoist bracket instead of using a jack on the engine itself. I followed a guys lead over on Brickboard, it worked well.

http://volvo2.homestead.com/index.html

Old 01-31-2011, 01:52 PM

I just did the same thing to my car last week. I went ahead and changed the Water pump. That would be one of the best things to change since your already there. I also changed all the belts, hoses, and some seals.

Those would be my only suggestion....Cheers!!!

Last edited by Swdmoos; 01-31-2011 at 01:55 PM.
Old 01-31-2011, 01:58 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Be very careful not to over tighten the hardware that mounts the waterpump to the block.

Old 02-01-2011, 02:58 AM