Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

850 GLT Wont start.

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 10:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 850 GLT Wont start.

Hello,
I am new to posing here but have came her alot for different things with my 850 GLT.
Problem: My car will not start and stay running. Sometimes it cranks and starts for a few seconds other times it will only crank. There are no odd noises or smells. It cranks at normal speed. Also my power lock button inside the vehicle will not work.
History of problems: No history of problems that i know of. I am the second owner. First owner maintained the vehicle very well.
Last thing i did that before i did it there was no problem whatsoever and now it will not start: I had been trying to install a Stebel compact airhorn with a relay. It would not work and i did not have any power showing up on my multi-meter while the horn button was depressed.
Today i removed the battery and started checking the wires from right out of the fuse box to the horn wires in the front of the car for continuity. there was continuity along all the wires. I also replaced a burned out fuse for the lighter in the car. Its never used and i dont know how long it has been burned out.
When i was poking around at the wires i also found what i have enclosed in the picture and have no clue what it goes to. It does not really look like it was hooked to something and im not sure what its for. It might be he cause of my problem or it might not be im not sure.