Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

850T, hard to start, then won't hold idle.....

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2015, 05:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 850T, hard to start, then won't hold idle.....

Hi,
I have a '95 850T which over the past few months has been hard to start in the morning. Usually starts after cranking for about 15 sec's....
I have a new battery, but now it won't start unless I give it a pump of gas, then it fires up, but won't hold the idle (keeps dropping down and cutting out). I have been holding my foot on the gas for about 2 mins at 2000rpm and then it seems to warm up and idles fine. Sometimes in this process it seems to speed up while idling, kind of revving up on it's own...?
Then it drives perfectly, no stalling at lights, or sluggishness. For the rest of the day it usually starts up just fine too.
I tried disconnecting the MAF when it's running and it continued to run for about 30 sec then died.....could it be the MAF sensor? It looks clean inside.
I'm assuming ignition wires are not the issue since, once started it runs fine?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Old 02-24-2015, 05:51 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts

Could be a few things - when was the last full tune up? rotor/cap, wires, plugs. Next it could be the MAF - have your tried cleaning it with some MAF cleaner? Next is to check for vacuum leaks and the intake ductwork for any oddities. Last thing I'd check is the idle control valve (ICV) as a possible cause. Given the note it runs fine when warmed up I'd suspect the MAF as once the O2 sensors heat up they start tuning the mix...

Old 02-24-2015, 11:17 PM

Originally Posted by mt6127
Could be a few things - when was the last full tune up? rotor/cap, wires, plugs.