Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

96 R low boost........

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2009, 11:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 R low boost........

After reading a bit of what search found me, i felt it time to explain my issues and take a poll on where to go next. My pal Chris and I have been building up my 96 850 R wagon for the last several months, and finally installed a digital boost gauge about a month ago, and were kinda shocked at the low numbers. The car is pretty much at stock levels, solid 10psi range ( shift spikes are in the high 11s ) This was before and after some of my recent mods... heres my list:

96 850R wagon

IPD ecu ( should be in the high 15s psi- Proven 17psi in Chris 96 R)
3" True CAI ( cone filter sits below the battery tray )
MSD blaster ignition
IPD wires with new cap and rotors
3" Downpipe
Magnaflow Race cat ( ceramic substrate)
2.5" cat back with high flow "turbo style" muffler
TurboXs BOV

Here's what ive done:

Removed and inspected ALL charge pipes
Replaced all found vac leaks ( there were 2 minor ones) a quick starter fluid scan of the engine says no more..? )
Replaced both vac lines to the BCS
Replaced BCS with a junk yard one, then again one from our T5 wagon
Tightened up spring pressure on BOV ( it had a small amount of loose "play" under heavy throttle *not under load*
Hand felt tension on the wastegate actuator ( felt like decent spring, but perhaps need to replace? )

Next step IMO would be swapping the WA

Perhaps there are some more ideas out there?
I feel like ive read all the common low boost threads that a basic search could find, but i'm also noob-tastic.

Thanks super much!

-Grae

Old 03-31-2009, 06:52 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Did you block off the factory Bypass valve when you installed the BOV?

Did you drive it with the waste gate hose off?