Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

97 855R - slow cranking in cold weather

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2014, 08:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 855R - slow cranking in cold weather

I'm trying to decide if I have a problem or not.

This is my first Volvo, but not my first car by any means.

I put a new battery in the car in December. It is a EverStart Maxx from Walmart, 790 CCA.

Most of the time, it's fine. Turn the key, starter turns at the 'normal' speed, and the car starts just fine.

But, on the mornings where it's been ultra ultra cold lately - like -10 to -18 degrees - it still starts the car, but the starter turns really slow when compared to when it's warm.

We've had an unusually cold winter here this year in Indiana, so I have no real experience to compare this to.

Do I have a potential problem here, or is this what I should expect at temps this cold?

Once it starts, I drive it for a bit, stop the car, and it'll start just fine every time after, until the next really cold morning.

I can check charging voltage, and get 13.4 volts, but I don't think I have the right tools to check the actual amperage the alternator is putting out - and the guys at the parts stores don't seem super interested in helping - perhaps they are busy, perhaps they just don't know how to check it.

Thinking at what prices I'm seeing for new/reman alternators, I should grab a good used one for $25 at the pull a part lot the next time I'm there!

As cold as it is, I'm tempted to just drive the rest of the winter, and if it starts, drive it, because it's a little cold for me to be doing any diagnostics

Thoughts?

Old 01-27-2014, 08:58 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

what weight engine oil are you running? Follow owners manual recommendation.

Ck your charging system before assuming it's the alt. Could be starter is due for OH too, or battery cables.