Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Break Down.. Help me figure this out.

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2008, 12:01 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Break Down.. Help me figure this out.

Hi I am new to volvos. I am an avid mechanic and i have a 95 850 turbo. Driving down the road the other day the lights on the dash lit up and the motor shut down. My first thought is timing belt broke. it would not even crank at this point. You can hear the starter engaging but its not turning the motor. So then i thought the motor is seized. took the timing cover off and the belt is fine. Turned the motor manually and its not seized. What can it be. My next guess is the starter. But why would it just shut down. Crazy stuff. also when i pulled over the fan relay was buzzing loudly. That was something new. Volvo pros out there help thanks Danny

Old 10-25-2008, 07:40 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: Break Down.. Help me figure this out.

I agree on the starter being bad.

Next I would try pulling the ECU codes follow link to learn how.
http://www.troublecodes.net/Volvo/

Old 10-25-2008, 08:04 AM

Could be a broken Grounding connection to motor. I think its on the front of the transmission and is bolted with a 12mm bolt. It could be corroded and gave up as you were driving.
With bad grounding to engine,starter will not engage/turn because it needs lot of juice to trn the engine.
Just a food for thought

Old 10-25-2008, 09:58 AM
Super Moderator
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts

Check the starter, but I don't know if a bad starter would cause the motor to shut down. I think you have two separate issues, both sound electrical.

Old 10-25-2008, 12:29 PM

I will check the grounding wire today. I dont hace the cel on. i will try to check those codes today as well. That gounding issue sounds like it maybe it. I will see today. Thanks Danny