Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Can someone tell me where to find the flame trap/pcv filter/insert?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2007, 11:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can someone tell me where to find the flame trap/pcv filter/insert?

Hello...
Newbie here. I'm trying to find where my flame trap insert/filter is located.This is my first Volvo & I'm blowing oil out of the filler cap and dipstick. I'm guessing this is the problem,but I've no idea where the part is so I can clean/replace it,!! Can someone help me please?
Thank you!!

Old 10-29-2007, 11:11 AM
Default RE: Can someone tell me where to find the flame trap/pcv filter/insert?

It is on the intake side of the flex hose coming from your air filter housing. I ordered the flame kit from fcp groten, and it was only about $5 and had all the bits.

http://volvospeed.com/Repair/ftrap.php

Old 10-30-2007, 08:13 AM
JPN
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome to the forum, I wish you find it helpful & enjoyable.

As you look at the engine bay from front of the car,the PCVsystemis to the left under the intake manifold.

I wouldn't try cleaning it; just replace the flame trap & hoses with a new kit:

http://www.fcpgroton.com/volvo.htm#850

Make sure to order the correct kit for your model, as there seem to be a few different kits. Also, when you decide to do it by yourself, order intake manifold gasket as you'll have to disconnect the manifold.

I hope this gets you started.

JPN

The following users liked this post:
louella (06-28-2022)
Old 10-30-2007, 10:11 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Just because his flame trap is gunked up doesn't mean that all the connecting hoses are; therefore, he many not need to remove the intake manifold.
[align=left] [/align]

Old 11-01-2007, 09:11 PM