Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Head Gasket Replacement 850 GLT

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2006, 11:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Head Gasket Replacement 850 GLT

Hi,

I'm a newbie here but not to cars and working on them. I am considering buying what might be a good deal that violates my first rule of buying a car; I can't drive it. It allegedly has a blown head gasket. If that's the only thing wrong, it might be a good deal. I'm looking for quick answers so I can make a decision.

I don't know the year; I've requested the VIN which will tell me all about it.

Is replacing a head gasket something that could reasonably done in my home garage with floor jack and jack stands?

I saw a post by tech saying that someone needed about $400 worth of gaskets to do the head gasket; is that true?

Would it make sense to go ahead and do the timing belt and associated at the same time? I presume yes. Again the VIN ought to tell me the mileage and the due dates of TB changes using the empirical number of every 60K miles.

Depending on the mileage, it might be best to overhaul or replace the engine at the same time; something I definitely won't do in my home garage -- maybe not.

Please answer right away and let er rip; maybe this is a stupid deal.

Thanks.

Old 10-16-2006, 01:49 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: Head Gasket Replacement 850 GLT

If it is pretty cheap I would buy it.
It is do able in a garage.

The Gaskets will be pretty close but look in the General section for the Links to sites post and check the prices.

Sweedish Volvo parts is a pretty good site.

Old 10-16-2006, 10:18 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

check this out...

http://www.fcpgroton.com/volvoeng850engine.htm

275234 Head Gasket Set 1994-1997 Turbo Models B5234 Engine Only $89.00

-Mike

Old 10-16-2006, 03:07 PM

ORIGINAL: tech