Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Milky Engine Oil (yuck) Problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2008, 04:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Milky Engine Oil (yuck) Problem

Hi everyone, first off I'd like to say that I'm a rookie who'scome here several times with basic to not-so-basic questions, and have received excellent and prompt assistance every time.

That said, a week ago while routinely cheking my oil, I found the dipstick covered in milky-white globs. I feared I had a cracked head gasket and coolant was seeping in, but someone suggested I change the oil to see how bad the problem might be. When I did, the oil seemed fine, no traces of any white whatsoever, even as I watched it drain. The dipstick still had some white, so I repeatedly inserted and cleaned it until it came out dry, then addednew oil. I felt relieved, but a day after the oil change, I checked again and found more white globs on the dipstick exactly as before.

I checked the coolant and that seemed to be a normal color (I changed it about2 months ago). Is it possible that I do have a cracked head gasket, andthe white globsjust didn't show up when I changed the oil? Or is there some other possible explanation? Any help is much appreciated.

Old 03-14-2008, 06:09 PM
Default RE: Milky Engine Oil (yuck) Problem

ORIGINAL: Roge
Hi everyone, first off I'd like to say that I'm a rookie who'scome here several times with basic to not-so-basic questions, and have received excellent and prompt assistance every time.