Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Mysterious Click from the front

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2009, 05:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mysterious Click from the front

Also posted on Volvospeed...

I'm putting my flamesuit before I start explaining. Be prepared - I'm a noob technician.

A few weeks ago, I painted my calipers red. But in the process I had an accident - the jack failed and the car landed on the right rotor. Yeah, I know I should've used jackstands - lesson learned!
The car didn't rest on the rotor alone though, the jack was still under the car, holding most of the weight. So the bumper or the frame never touched the ground. So it wasn't a serious impact.
Fearing that I may have destroyed my rotor, I took the car for a slow, careful spin - everything appeared to be normal. No grinding, no noise whatsoever. Car stopped straight. Everything was good.

I drove for two weeks without noticing any problems. But for the past week something has been bothering me. There is a single "click" sound coming somewhere upfront, whenever I turn the wheel to the left. It happens only once every turn, and at a very small angle - 10-15 degree turn of the wheel. It happens again when I return the wheel and it passes through the same angle. I can also hear it whenever I go over a bump or a hole on the road.
At first I thought - it's my left axle, the CV boot is torn and it has finally started clicking. But after much thinking and driving in circles I don't think it's the axle. It's a single, not loud, click, at a very small angle. It's more like a "thump"...

So with everything explained...where should I look for the source of the sound? When the car landed on the rotor, I looked closely and nothing else had touched the ground.

Old 10-10-2009, 06:16 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Maybe sway bar link bad.
Maybe upper spring seat is bad.