Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

New to Forum, thinking about buying Turbo 850 and megasquirt

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2008, 11:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Forum, thinking about buying Turbo 850 and megasquirt

Hi guys, My name is Charles from Montreal/Canada and I'm new here.

As of a couple weeks I've been helping a friend with his Turbo Neon running on Mega-Squirt 1. Ever since then and seeing how much power can be made I've been on the search for a car that already comes with a turbo. I really came up with 2 options that were affordable: Turbo Volvo's and Turbo Diesel Volkswagons.

The VW's TDI doesn't really attract me and is incredibly loud. So I've been looking at buying Volvo's. I found many in my area ranging from 740 Turbo to 960 Turbo however, they are mostly automatic. I'm an apprentice mechanic till I finish my 2 years but I can pretty much swap anything and do all the work myself.

What I really wanted was a 960 Turbo since it's rear-wheel drive but it only comes automatic so I've opted for a 850 5-speed that's being sold locally.

He is asking 1500$ (Negoctiable), it's a 1994 Red, 5-speed Sedan with 200,000+ km. It's has heated leather seats, On-board computer, and comes with 4 high-performance tires.

Now before I go see the car, my plan is to have a Megasquirt EFI built for it which will be around 500 with everything I need. I would also do basic upgrades as a front mount intercooler, 3" Exhaust, MSD Ignition, Bigger Injectors, Boost Controller, BOV.

What I would like to know is what things go bad on these cars after 200,000 km and are they expensive to fix. With the above mentioned mods I plan, is 300+ hp a reasonable amount of power? I've also seen 850 T5R, what is the T5R exactly?

Thanks for any help/input you guys have.

Thanks in advance,

Charles

Old 10-20-2008, 12:30 AM
Got Boost?