Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Seafoam Treatment?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2010, 09:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seafoam Treatment?

Like I said on my other thread, I'm a noob so bear with me on some basic questions.

I bought an 850 on Friday with an undisclosed amount of miles (odometer cut off at 140k) and want to flush out the engine with a Seafoam Treatment. My question is this: would the Seafoam be good for an engine this old (probably has between 200k-250k miles), or would it likely break up the seals?

Old 01-12-2010, 10:14 AM
Former Sponsor

It would be very good for the engine of that age, just don't put it in the engine oil. It could clean the crank case so well that it cause the old seals to leak. If you run it in the gas and the intake manifold, that would be fine.

Old 01-12-2010, 01:23 PM

That's exactly what I was looking for, FCP.

And thanks twice over. I'm actually ordering some parts off your website right now that are half the price of the AutoZone and are OEM.

Old 01-12-2010, 03:03 PM

I've never Seafoamed before but from looking up information on it it looks like my car could use something like that.

I have a 1996 Vovlo 850 with over 240,000+ miles. How should I go about Seafoaming?

Old 01-12-2010, 09:45 PM

Originally Posted by Dah_jOkA
I've never Seafoamed before but from looking up information on it it looks like my car could use something like that.

I have a 1996 Vovlo 850 with over 240,000+ miles. How should I go about Seafoaming?
There are three ways that Seafoam cleans up your car. The two that FCPGroton recommended on mine are probably the quickest and easiest.

1. Just buy a small can (1 pint) and pour 1/3 of the can in your tank the next fill-up. Cleans out your fuel line, fuel injectors, etc. Might need a new fuel filter after this, though.