Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Smoking dipstick, How to clean the ptc?

Old 01-16-2010, 09:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smoking dipstick, How to clean the ptc?

I noticed that my dipstick was smoking as I was checking my oil today. I searched for a fix around the forums and I came across somebody suggesting to clean the PTC or redo the PCV.

I don't quite have the money to redo the PCV at the moment so I figured I would take a look at the PTC valve and give it a good cleaning and see what happens.

Only problem is, I'm still new to Volvos so I have no clue where to look for the PTC valve =[

any help please?

Old 01-16-2010, 10:27 PM

heres a general idea of cleaning the pcv system
https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-850-16/how-pcv-system-beginners-18639/

if you look around the helpful liknks thread you'll probalby find more helpful info.

cheers,
matt

Old 01-17-2010, 06:06 PM

Originally Posted by matt01
heres a general idea of cleaning the pcv system
https://volvoforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18639

if you look around the helpful liknks thread you'll probalby find more helpful info.

cheers,
matt
thanks alot buddy, one more question tho, how hard is it to redo the pcv? I've never done one before, Should it be something I'm able to attempt or should I let a mechanic do it?

Old 01-17-2010, 06:30 PM

honestly, for the most part its as easy as taking off bolts, (ive never done it on my car yet) disconnecting vacuum lines, and you could find on the net a pretty easy step by step guide with photos of how to do it.
i dont know your skill level in mechanics, but https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-850-16/pcv-breather-system-replacement-33970/ look through the pictures and see if thats something that you'd be conferable with doing yourself.

it'll probably be a pretty pricey if you have someone do it.

Old 01-17-2010, 06:58 PM