Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Turbo issues + Found a mystery line

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2013, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo issues + Found a mystery line

So, i have 2 issues I'm facing right now. My main issue is that my turbo is spooling, but only shows about 1psi on the gage, and the car feels like an NA motor to boot.

I'm fairly new to turbos, so I'm still learning about how all the stuff works. From the wastegate, I can pull the rod and feel tension from the spring, but the rod DOES move with a good pull. But when I hit the throttle under a load, (chocked wheels, winter mode 3rd gear, e-brake set) the arm doesn't move at all but you can hear the pressure building up. Could this be my culprit? I recently replaced all my cracked vacuum lines a month ago but who knows, there could be more..

I recently replaced my radiator so the issue of wrong vacuum lines could always be there but I double checked everything with the diagram under my hood and it all looks kosher.

My other issue that could be possibly contributing to this is I found 2 hard plastic vacuum hoses that are not hooked up underneath the drivers side by the air pump. one of the hoses has a purple check valve... is this one line that busted into two, or do they both need placed somewhere? It was like that when I bought the car, so I have no idea where they go, but if it gives any help when you start the car, it sucks air in rapid spurts that sound like a classic sprinkler (does that even make sense? lol)

Sometimes it feels like the power builds, then surges, then builds again. Using my scanner, I found no knock signals nor timing retards. but the boost goes from 1psi to -4psi in a split second.

Anyone dealt with this before?

Old 09-02-2013, 10:41 PM