Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

$50 to anyone who can solve my front end clunking

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2018, 02:44 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default $50 to anyone who can solve my front end clunking

I'm serious. I've got a front end clunk that I've been chasing now for 4 years. I have done the following (not all for the sake of addressing the clunk of course):
1) replaced the droplinks 2x (now they are genuine)
2) replaced control arms (lemforder 2 years ago - they look great)
3) replaced both axle shafts - used but replacing did not alter sound
4) replaced both hubs and bearings - used but no altering of sound
5) replaced anti-roll bar bushings (front)
6) replaced shock mounts, bearings 2x (now OEM) and springs
7) discs and pads
8) all engine mounts (upper and lower)
9) replaced tranny x-member, x-member rubber inserts and metal inserts
10) verified subframe bolts for tightness
11) outer tie-rod ends

So here are the symptoms:
1) does not happen in the cold weather in fact, doesn't happen any time temp is less than about 23/24deg C say roughly 75deg F. THe warmer it is, the more pronounced the sound gets and the more regularily it happens.
2) the sound comes from down low in the front but you can feel it throughout: if you have your hand resting on top of door with open window you can distinctly feel the clunk in the frame, for instance. Having said this you feel it most down by your feet.
3) It is a few clunks at a time (maybe 2-4) and it can only be felt/heard at take off or while moving at a VERY slow speed.
4) I think it only happens after taking off from a stop or when easing forward in traffic
5) It's a sound that says "this needs to be addressed" but yet it's been doing it for several years without any other symptoms
6) I did take it in at one point and their recommendation was to replace drop links which I did - they could not find anything else wrong