Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Severe (I think) brake problem! Please help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2010, 03:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Severe (I think) brake problem! Please help!!!

Hi everyone,

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and any feedback or help would be much appreciated.

I am new to Volvo ownership and recently bought a 2005 S40 T5 (FWD), 30k miles, fsh. Passed the MOT fine, but had a note about the rear brakes getting a bit thin, but as I really like the car I thought I would treat her to new discs and pads, front & rear. I ordered some from an internet supplier, grooved, drilled with redstuff pads.

I had them fitted today and instantly I noticed a really bad scraping noise, coming from the discs on the front (both sides) - it may be making the same noise from the rear but as the noise from the front was so loud I couldnt tell. As I pulled away it was scraping but as I built up speed the noise seemed to subside. My initial thought was that it wasnt anything to worry about and was just the whole setup bedding in. But after a while I could still hear that the front discs were still making the noise and the disc on the passenger side was making a scraping noise louder than the rest, but as I was going fast the outside noise was such that it hadnt gone away, but was bearly audible.

As I moved on to slower roads the noise became much louder, and if I had the windows down it would be really loud and embarrasing! The funny thing is that it was not constant, but sometimes it would do it, sometimes it wouldnt, and it didnt seem that braking stopped the noise. By the time I had realised that it is a problem, I had done nearly 50 miles and was well on my way home (the garage was near my mother in laws over 100 miles away, and as It was shutting as I left, I couldnt go back there).