Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Changed T-belt and Water pump, misfires ensue.

Old 06-07-2009, 09:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changed T-belt and Water pump, misfires ensue.

Hi everyone. I'm a mechanic from Rhode Island and I've got a doozy on my hands here. I was doing a buddy a favor and changed the timing belt and w/p on his 01 S40. 1.9t, auto tranny.

Things started off kinda strange, using the puller to get the crank pulley off, the crank sprocket came out, too. Didn't get to line up the cams/crank before pulling the belt off. Oh well. Rear exhaust cam has VVT I noticed.

Replaced waterpump. Replaced timing belt. Timing marks are DEAD NUTS ON. Start engine, starts right away, revved it up a bit, seems okay. Put it back together, throw some coolant in it. Kicked out the lift and backed it out of the garage.

Runs like poo. It idles fine. Any amount of acceleration and it feels like a misfire. Put a load on the engine and it picks up/misfires/picks up/misfires.

Checked the plugs. They're wiped. Totally. Unfortunately, we don't stock plugs for a 2001 Volvo S40 1.9t at our shop. And it's 8:10pm on a Sunday, nobody is open. But it ran fine when it first came in.

. Took it apart again. Set timing. Again. Dead nuts on. Still runs like crap.

A few things I'm thinking about:

1: It can not be a timing problem. It runs fine at idle, and at acceleration it'll pick up and fall off like it's your run-of-the-mill misfire.

2: I noticed that when I line up the TDC mark on the crank sprocket/mark on the block, the piston is nowhere near TDC. It's actually 1/8 turn off. It's my understanding that Cylinder 1 has to be at the tippy top of the stroke. So all valves are closed. But, the timing marks say otherwise? Then again, I doubt the engine would run if the crank was 1/8 a turn off. Right? The crank sprocket only goes on one way so I couldnt have screwed that up.