Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

I'm going crazy

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2021, 10:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry I'm going crazy

I bought this 2000 Volvo s 40 from someone I thought was a friend, turns out the car has some issues.....it ran good for about a month.....maybe some one out there can help...I'm driving down the hill to go to town on the 4th july and all the sudden I loose power to everything and coast to a stop. I am not a mechanic by any means, although i can do some stuff. It turns out the serpintine belt shredded. easy fix right, NO, i got the belt on right and went to start the car.......no start....i go though every possible reason that it wouldnt start. I went and bought a foxwell NT301 plus OBD2 code reader/ battery tester......batterIEs good, i checked the car for codes came up 5 codes and i replaced all the parts...thermostat sensor, cam shaft sensor, crank shaft sensor, ignition coil a, and b. I also replaced the spark plugs and wire harness that goes with the ignItion coils, i replaced the altenator and bought the starter but havent put it in yet.......the car will not start....when you turn the key to start it makes an electrical whirl sound, i determined that was the fuel pump kicking on, and still nothing PLEASE SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT I'M MISSING.....ITS GOT AIR/FUEL/BUT NO SPARK I GUESS.......HOW DO I TEST FOR SPARK / WHAT DO I DO NEXT/ I NEED THIS CAR RUNNING ASAP i ALSO NEED A DRIVERS SIDE FRONT COIL SPRING.....I DONT HAVE THE FOGGIEST IDEA HOW THAT BROKE, AND NO AUTO PARTS PLACE WILL SELL ONE

Old 08-18-2021, 09:13 AM
Received 586 Likes on 552 Posts

Originally Posted by JC66
2000 Volvo s 40
It turns out the serpintine belt shredded. easy fix right, NO, i got the belt on right and went to start the car.......no start....