Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Mysterious clutch failure cured without any repair?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2015, 11:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mysterious clutch failure cured without any repair?

Hi guys (and gals),

I've been driving a Volvo S40 since 2008. Mine is a '07 reg 2.0L diesel. I love it. Aside from the alternator failing, I've never had any serious problems with it, until now.

On Friday, I switched on the engine, and it immediately cut out. I thought at first that I'd inadvertently released the clutch pedal in between changing gear. So I started her up again, and to my utter shock I couldn't change gear, and the clutch pedal wouldn't return to its resting position when I released it.

I tried it again, but the same thing, so I left it. I couldn't verify if there was fluid accumulating under the car because it was raining, so I waited until the next day. I tried her again, but the same symptoms. This time I pumped the clutch pedal a few times, and checked under the car for leakage. Nothing.

Today, I tried it again, and it's working fine. No issue whatsoever. I didn't test drive it, just reversed and drove forward a couple of meters in my drive. I'm afeared to drive her now, because I don't want the same thing happening while I'm on the road.

I have the Haynes manual on the S40, and I'm tempted to look at it myself (no mechanic experience, but I'm not afraid of spanners and dirt). I think it must be the disc, or pressure plate. At first I thought it might be a leak, but why is it working again as normal i.e. I can change gear and the clutch pedal works as normal too.

I think I'll just give the Mechanic a call anyway, but I'd be interested to hear some comments/opinions.

If it's the clutch that needs fixing I'm probably looking at a few hundred yo yos?

Cheers

VG

Old 09-15-2015, 04:19 PM
Super Moderator
Received 502 Likes on 482 Posts