Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo S40 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s40-11/)
-   -   Please Help!!! Oil dip stick popping out... (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s40-11/please-help-oil-dip-stick-popping-out-67288/)

Mikenandez 06-29-2012 11:54 PM

Please Help!!! Oil dip stick popping out...

Hello my name is Michael and not only am I brand new to this forum but new to Volvo as well.

I just bought a 2001 S40 about 8 months ago and I was ignorant of the cost of parts and service for this vehicle so after putting in around 1200 dollars already I find myself with this problem.

I smell oil and noticed it is coming out of the dipstick and the dipstick keeps popping out about a half or quarter inch or so.

Can this be a sign that the engine is shot? Please give me some feedback that is easy to understand since I am no mechanic to begin with and this Volvo has me really stressed out and already spending more money than I can truly afford.

Thanks in advance for your help.

rspi 06-30-2012 05:27 AM

These cars have a PCV system that needs to be serviced every 5 years or 60,000 miles. This is usually neglected by most Volvo owners. If left unattended it will likely cause other problems like blown oil seals. There are several, easy to understand, DIY instructions out there that you can use to do the job yourself. If you don't have any tools, the tools and parts will likey cost around $200. If you have it done by a mechanic, you're looking at $600 - $900.

migbro 06-30-2012 10:37 AM

Originally Posted by Mikenandez (Post 320558)
Hello my name is Michael and not only am I brand new to this forum but new to Volvo as well......I just bought a 2001 S40 about 8 months ago and I was ignorant of the cost of parts and service for this vehicle so after putting in around 1200 dollars already I find myself with this problem.