Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

2012 S60 T5 Rough Idle Mystery

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2022, 01:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2012 S60 T5 Rough Idle Mystery

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on this forum with the hope that you all might be able to help me with an inexplicable and nightmarish (and very expensive) experience (rough idle/stalling/power loss) with my 2012 Volvo S60 T5 Turbo (120,000 K / 74 K Miles). Note: I've done lots of searches for this particular problem, but nothing that satisfied what's been going on with my particular car.

The long story is that the car was purchased used with around 95,000 KM in October of 2020, and ran like a gem for the first year and a bit. Around April of this year (2022), just when the weather started warming up, I began to experience an intermittent rough idle issue which was at first attributed to the engine coils, and which were very promptly replaced (all five of them). The issue went away for about one day before returning very shortly thereafter, it was then suggested that I get a new spark plugs, this was also done promptly.