Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

I need my A/C expansion valve and dryer replaced...should i tackle it myself?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2010, 03:18 PM
JAP
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post I need my A/C expansion valve and dryer replaced...should i tackle it myself?

The total is over $900, which I can prob afford but a little difficult with three kids. I am pretty handy with the tools, and have the time as I am a teacher, but should I take this on? First, I have not been able to find the steps to complete this endeavour. I guess if someone has a link to this repair process I would seriously consider it. The repair shop is capturing the 134 for me in case I decide to do it myself. I have about two days to decide, any help would be MOST appreciated.

Thanks

Old 06-23-2010, 09:35 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

The dryer is a major pain to do. The Non turbo is easier but the turbo ones are a pain. The expansion valve can be a pain as well. There is small allen head screws holding the block on the car. I have seen people strip them trying to get them loose.

Old 06-25-2010, 04:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Conditioning Problem