Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Sloppy Handling, help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2008, 09:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sloppy Handling, help!

I have a '00 S70 with 86k on it. Car feels very sloppy and disconnected. When going around turns and hitting imperfections car tends to be very tippy/sloppy. I sometimes have to steer to recover the cars position.

Took it to the dealer and they said that both upper strut mounts are broken and both inner tie rods are worn.
I then took it to the reputable volvo indie that specializes in 850/S70's and was told that it needed new control arms and spring seats. I had them replace the control arms/ball joints. The steering feels much better but car is still sloppy.

I'm a college student and don't want to throw money at the car at this point in time, so am not sure what to do.....

The front end is COMPLETELY squeak/clunk-free from inside the car and everything I have read about spring seats seems to imply that I should hear noises? The suspension is actually quieter than the junky clunky setup on my mom's XC90.

Please help!! Thanks, Joe

Old 01-03-2008, 09:30 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Sloppy Handling, help!

Ok well you kind of answered your own question.

Your a college student who doesn't want to pour money into your car at this point. So don't.

However if you can't stand the problems your having then get them fixed. You can purchase parts over the internet cheaper then you can from the dealership and I suggest you do and then either install them yourself or have a local mech you trust do it.

Old 01-03-2008, 10:38 AM

If your tie rods are broken, when you make a turn the tires will feel like they are kinda "rolling" over on themselves. Fix that and the car will feel much better. My upper strut mounts are cracked aswell, but of the two jobs I went with the tie rods, since i didnt have money for both.