Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Volvo S70 Blown Head Gasket?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 08:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Volvo S70 Blown Head Gasket?

All,

I have a 98 Volvo S70 (T5) that I purchased about 4 months ago. About a month ago i was driving to work when i noticed the engine overheating and smoke coming from the engine compartment. I was in bumper to bumper traffic on the highway so it unfortantally took me a few (10 min plus) to get off the road and shut it down.

I towed it home to discover that a busted coolent hose going to my Turbo. I replaced that and thought it was a success.

Ever since that day i have noticed i have had to add Coolent every week or so. Not a rapid leak or anything (actually not leaking at all because i have stuck cardboard under the car at night to see if there was one) But anyways i am new to working to cars so never thought anything about it.

Last week i was about 2 min from home when i noticed Again that the car was screaming "hot" and smoke was coming from the engine compartment. I parked it in the driveway and turned it off. I initally hoped it was the Termostat, and the engine was just not getting coolent. But after putting the Termostat in boiling water i relized that it opened and seemed to be operating correctly.

I then did a little reading and was drawn to checking the oil dipstick. Where i noticed a milky substance. Let me go back and say when i bought the car the Engine Coolent Resevor had this "milky substance" in there. And me not knowing any better purchased it. So from that day, the coolent reservor has had this milky substance, but up until that turbo hose busted had been running great with no problems.