Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Replaced ETM, do I need to reprogram?

  #1  
Old 11-12-2012, 01:27 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default Replaced ETM, do I need to reprogram?

Hello, I recently purchased a 1999 Volvo S80 T6 from my brother in law. The car was surging at idle and I read about how to replace the ETM. I have read that after replacing the ETM you are supposed to take the car in and have it reprogrammed. Is this something that needs to be done? The car appears to drive great but I do have a service light on the dash. I have gone through the diagnostics and found that the car is giving me a code 77 on the dashboard. Is this code related to my ETM switch? Thanks in advance, Jeff
 
  #2  
Old 11-12-2012, 08:24 PM
gabyman97596's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kissimmee,FL
Posts: 352
Default

If the car is acting funny have it reprogram, that part is not a plug and play part.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 126
Default

The XeMODex ETMs come pre-programmed. No need to reflash the car OS. Reflashing can be expensive. Watch out.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cabdoctor
Volvo S80
1
05-15-2014 10:03 PM
gtperf
Volvo S80
1
01-24-2010 10:00 AM
syclone50
Volvo 850
4
02-13-2009 09:15 PM
JSP
Volvo XC90
2
10-10-2008 09:21 PM
jjstahl3
Volvo V40
1
07-16-2008 06:41 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Replaced ETM, do I need to reprogram?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.