Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

CEL code P0107 and MAP sensor??

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2006, 09:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CEL code P0107 and MAP sensor??

My 1998 V70 AWD has been reporting an error code of P0107 for some time now. The generic explanation of this code is MAP sensor reading low. As this car does not have a Manifold Absolute Pressure sensor, I am assuming the problem is some other fuel metering/intake problem. Does this sound right? When the code first showed up, there was no noticable problem with the car. Recently it started stalling when coasting to a stop, but restarted fine and seemed to have a steady idle. Just once or twice it stumbled on the highway. Then one day it was running rough, stalled at some trafic lights, then would only run a few yards and stall again. I took it to an independent mechanic (I have no previous experience with him) who insists the problem is the sensor that Volvo calls a MAP sensor, which is actually an accelerometer bolted to the front right fender used to pick up road noise (cancels the road noise for the knock sensors). This doesn't sound right to me. Any group wisdom here?

In the "may be related" area: Oil has been pooling on top of the cylinder head and appears to be coming from the oil filler cap (also leaking around distributor). While looking for a leak in the intake system (for the CEL problem) I found the rubber elbow between the inlet maniflod nipple (next to the power steering pump) and the small vacuum hose to the PCV tree (just downstream of the MAF sensor), was all squishy and collapsed (but apparently not leaking air into the manifold). Am I right in thinking this could cause the PCV system to stop venting and cause oil vapour to blow past the filler cap? I plan on replacing the whole PCV system at this point, as I have lots of bits off already.

Any chance these two issues are linked?