Volvo XC60 This smaller crossover offers the capabilities of an SUV with less size - ideal for city driving.

Thinking of making my first Volvo purchase (2018 XC60)

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2017, 12:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of making my first Volvo purchase (2018 XC60)

I'm impressed with the features and look of the new 2018 XC60 and am considering a purchase. It would be my first Volvo and I have no experience with the brand.

Any advice? Reasons to purchase Volvo? Reasons not to?

Thanks.

Old 09-11-2017, 01:54 PM

Just finished a somewhat disheartening online chat with a VOLVO USA representative on the subject of Scheduling Charging. For reference, here in California we buy our electricity from Pacific Gas and Electric. In order to encourage EVs they have a tiered billing schedule which is time-of-day based, not total-usage based.

To get you to schedule your usage when demand for power is at it's lowest, they drop their rates to approx 1/3 to 1/4 the price of peak usage hours; during 11:00 PM to 7:00 AM on Mon thru Fri, and 7:00 PM to 3:00 PM on Sat, Sun, and Holidays. Our current vehicle is a 2015 Ford Fusion Energi Plugin Hybrid which allows you to input these times with the dash's touchscreen or the Ford iPhone app.

We have just put a downpayment on the new 2018 XC60 T8 AWD Plugin Hybrid and I decided to read through ALL of the VOLVO manuals related to this vehicle, and On Call, and Sensus. Close to 1,000 pages! I could NOT find any reference to scheduling charging.