Volvo XC60 This smaller crossover offers the capabilities of an SUV with less size - ideal for city driving.

Use Volvo dealer or trusted mechanic for repairs and maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2021, 04:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Use Volvo dealer or trusted mechanic for repairs and maintenance

I have a 2015 XC60. To date I have mostly had it serviced at the dealer, but it is now long out of warranty, and the dealer is over 30 minutes away and is very pricey. I'd like to rely more on a trusted mechanic I've been using for over 20 years. I did have him do one oil change and replace the rear brakes. I'm just wondering in general are there things I should just leave for the dealer. For example, I'll probably need a battery replacement soon. I've read that might require some sort of special control module initialization, possibly only doable by the VIDA software. Then there are things like software updates you get at the dealer. My mechanic does not specialize in Volvos, but seems to service all makes of cars. I doubt he has any of the Volvo specific equipment that might be needed for certain repairs and maintenance (or what those might be for that matter). Any opinions?

Old 01-08-2021, 06:26 PM
Super Moderator
Received 493 Likes on 474 Posts

I think you hit on one of the two reasons when a dealer is your best bet:

1) is there any special diagnostics or software programming required for your service
2) are there any special Volvo tools required