Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

2002 S80 T6 Massive Oil Leak!

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2011, 07:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 S80 T6 Massive Oil Leak!

I have a 2002 S80 T6 with 80K miles on it. I've been changing the oil regularly for 6 months that I've had it.
I noticed there was a lot of oil coming from my vehicle on the ground where I park at work. I popped the hood and there was oil EVERYWHERE! Shallow puddles on the manifold, and all over the engine. There is oil dripped all over the rear and center of the alternator. There's also a lot of oil on the center return hose for the turbo. The oil is running down and blowing back all over the chassis. It's insane and I have no idea why the hell it happened. I checked to make sure the oil cap was on properly and it was. However, there was a lot of dark brown/black gunky oil residue where oil is put into the vehicle. Also the dipstick was not sealed down and was kind of poking out.

Aside from this I'm also running a little rough between 60-80mph.

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this problem?

I bought the car used because it appeared to be in great shape and was at 70k miles..

Any help is greatly appreciated..

EDIT:: Could this have something to do with the crankcase oil trap or breather box? Not that I know what that is, but how much is that repair?

Last edited by TigerGoosebark; 01-24-2011 at 08:02 PM.
Old 01-25-2011, 02:31 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Definitely a clogged vent box, there is a similar thread saying the same thing.. Basically you either have to clean or replace the vent box or oil will continue to spray everywhere at will....

Old 01-25-2011, 08:40 AM

I wouldn't say its definately a "clogged" box but there's a very good chance that its leaking from the seals behind it. I was loosing 1qt/30miles or something when mine was leaking!!

Its easy enough to fix. P/Ns you need are