Still overheating even after water pump

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2016, 01:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Still overheating even after water pump

I have a problem to help challenge your mechanical minds!

I'm a firefighter living in the mountains just west of Denver. I have a 1998 V70 awd with the turbo at 130,000 miles. I do have a larger turbo and injectors plus a tune from ARD; all new, quality parts. I have an issue with overheating that I can not figure out. It will idle all day just fine somewhere around 200-220, the fan kicks on at 217 and off around 205. I tested both fan speeds to be working via grounding the relay, although I can't say I've ever witnessed the fan going in to high speed.
The problem is that on any long, sustained climb or sustained acceleration, even moderate to low, the temp will just creep up. And by up i mean 230, 240, I've even seen 250s, at which point my cap starts to spit out my coolant as expected. I assume that's too hot for it to run?

I replaced the thermostat, I've flushed the system with water, also the coolant flush addative where I drove about 20 miles, I replaced the ECT sensor, generic. If I put a hose in the upper radiator, water will come out as fast as I can put it in out the bottom hose, so there are no restrictions there. I have hosed out the fins of the radiator (which is of course behind the intercooler) and neither look dirty. I can see a flashlight shined through it.

I have pressure tested it to 20 pounds which it holds well for at least an hour. The pressures don't increase on startup so there doesn't appear to be a pressure leak from the head gasket in to the cooling system. The plugs are dry after pressue testing, there is no smoking on startup. I'm running 50/50 of old school green antifreeze and distilled water.