2001 V70 T5 - Rough idle, engine dying, coolant leaking

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 12:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2001 V70 T5 - Rough idle, engine dying, coolant leaking

I have a 2001 V70 T5 with 160K miles in TX and have had problems recently with the car dying when at idle, low RPM and even when coasting at low speeds. Please keep in mind I have very little mechanical knowledge or experience, but I know from past work I have had done that taking it to be a dealer/shop would be a total cash-i-ectamy on my wallet.
Local Mechanic told me to replace vacum lines which had hardened and cracked. I replaced all the lines that looked bad visually. Still have problem.
Q1. Is there a link or instructions anywhere on how to check the system more thoroughly for vacum leaks?? (I think I should start here)
I took it to dealer and after agreeing to a $120 diagnostic fee. They will NEVER work on my car. Sounding somewhat amused they said “You have a lot wrong with this car, we can NOT diagnose it until you replace the PCV valve. It will be $1,100, would you like us to replace it?" I might as well have gone in pulled my pants down and bent over , that’s the feeling I got because I replaced the PCV valve myself which took me 4 hours and cost me around $130 in parts..(Dealer gave me wrong PCV valve which was bolted on the engine before I realized it was for the wrong car, so + 1-2 hrs scratching head and 2hr round trip back to dealer) Car still dying..
Looked online to see if I could find any solutions and suspected the MAF or ETM.
Auto Zone gave me these codes free of charge:
P0121 - Throttle pedal position
P0102 - Mass air flow sensor
I disconnected the Mass air flow sensor and found that my car was idling very rough still, with RMP fluctuating from 800-1200 but NOT dying with the MAF sensor disconnected.