Looking at a 01 V70 T5 to buy

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2018, 10:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking at a 01 V70 T5 to buy

Hi All
Pretty new member here.
Last year I bought my first Volvo, a 98 V70 with only 149000 which I love .Now need a backup and saw a nice 01 V70 T5 for sale.
Seller wants $3700 .Car is in real nice shape ,both body and grey leather .
Was Told transmission,timing belt,alternator ,throttle body, PVC, Battery ,5 new coils,all replaced , Car drove nice but had a bit of a loose feel in steering wheel but couldn’t take it on highway. Any advice on all this
much appreciated as I am new to all this. Thx

Old 01-24-2018, 07:35 AM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

How many miles?
Any '01 had the imperiled transmission, weak MM ETM and possibly fragile DIM.

You think he really REPLACED the trans.? How long ago? Got receipts?
The same goes for the PCV. How long ago?

The ETM is rebuildable to a better standard. So was it a rebuild or dealership replacement with the old style?

Check the turbo's oil return line for leakage at the block. Some intercoolers swell with age. I do not know about Volvo intercoolers.

Check under the oil fill cap for sludge.
Bring a rubber glove and stretch it over the oil fill hole with the engine running. The glove should "suck in" not balloon out.
If it balloons out the PCV system is clogged/inoperative. The seller could easily lie.
A complete PCV job is long involving $250 worth of parts and could run to $750 or more.

Do remember, there's a huge chance you'd be buying someone else's zoom-car toy with the additional chance of it being neglected.

Even the timing belt may have been replaced without replacing the idler and tensioner.
Volvo water pumps are commonly said to last over 2 timing belt changes but it's good to inspect them.

Private sale or dealer? How'd you hook up? Pay for an inspection. Plates on car?

Old 01-24-2018, 10:48 AM

Thx for reply, much appreciated.
Car has 115000 on it.