Motor Mounts and Throttle Body, Plus Battery Issue?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2018, 10:50 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Motor Mounts and Throttle Body, Plus Battery Issue?

Hi. I am twenty years old, in college, and this is the first car that I have purchased on my own, so I am new to the formalities of dealing with mechanics, previous owners, and deciding what is and isn't a necessary repair.

I recently purchased a used 2001 Volvo V70 2.4T from a second-owner in early August. A couple of weeks before the purchase, the second-owner had the starter and throttle body replaced at her mechanic, as well as a multi-point inspection to assess the condition of the vehicle. Everything checked out fine during the inspection, and I have the receipts and printouts from the mechanic that say that. I thought I was having transmission issues recently, so I took the vehicle to my local Volvo dealership's repair department for a diagnosis of the vehicle (I was told by the second-owner's mechanic that the transmission module could need a software update). The transmission came back fine besides a "needed" fluid flush, but the throttle body came back as defective, and the dealership said that the motor mounts needed to be replaced and that it was causing a jerking/lurching feeling when I shifted from park into drive after I started the car (an issue that I was aware of, but did not know the cause). I am looking at about $650 for the transmission fluid and the motor mounts, and another $900 for the throttle.

The diagnostic for the throttle body is that it is defective and "the sensor in the throttle body has a difference of 13.54 degrees.