General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

1989 Volvo 240 GL running rough

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2018, 12:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1989 Volvo 240 GL running rough

Hey everyone, this is my first time asking for help on this site, so forgive if my questions and problems are spaced out. I am the proud owner of a 1989 Volvo 240 which has been running strong for 2 years, but has been running poorly for the last week. No check engine light and no OBD codes have come up.

Symptoms
-The symptoms are mainly shaking/sputtering of the engine at idle and acceleration and loss of power. It sounds like my car might just stall out when I come to a stop or change rpm. I also noticed the engine oil dipstick and valve cover faintly smell like gasoline. I have been told this could be because of a sticking piston ring or a plugged up crankcase ventilation system. I somewhat doubt this because the oil separator/breather was replaced and the rest of the pcv system and flame trap were cleaned about 10 months ago. I have also used seafoam in the oil, fuel, and vacuum line leading to the intake before every oil change (about every 3 months).

What I have done so far.
-Since my check engine light doesn't work, I checked the OBD-I port sockets 2 and 6, with engine off and key in run position, for any logged codes and came up with 1-1-1 on both twice (so no faults). Adjusted the throttle linkage correctly. Cleaned out the throttle body, which was filthy, I noticed that the intake manifold appeared wet. I believe this is because of a leaking fuel pressure regulator. I have also cleaned the MAF with MAF cleaner in hopes it would help. I have also listed the parts below I have ordered and will be replacing this weekend.
-new fuel injectors
-new fuel pressure regulator
-new fuel pump relay
-new distributor cap and rotor
-new spark plugs and wires
-new engine oil and filter

What I suspect
-insufficent spark or no spark