General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Newbie thinking about a 2007 S80 AWD (8 cyl)

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2015, 06:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie thinking about a 2007 S80 AWD (8 cyl)

Hi Folks,

I'm new to the Volvo forums. I am in the market for a used car that I can use, primarily as my go to work vehicle. I live about 8 miles from my office and currently have a Toyota minivan and a Subaru Forester.

My oldest kid will be driving next year so I'm thinking about getting a used car that I can use as a commuter car and a nice weekend car.

I'm really interested in getting a used S80 AWD. I live in New Hampshire and we get a lot of snow. AWD is useful (we love our Subaru).

I'm seriously considering buying a used 2007 S80 AWD that has the 8-cylinder engine. However, this afternoon I ran into a friend who had a Volvo XC90. I asked him about his car and told him I was thinking of buying a used Volvo. He said that in his experience with his XC90, it was a solid car, but it was very expensive to repair. He cautioned me that the factory parts for the Volvos were very expensive and he ultimately traded in his Volvo and got a different brand of car.

I did some research and the Volvo S80 seems to have a decent reputation for reliability. I looked at consumer reports and edmunds and they seem to have favorable reviews for the S80.

Is the cost of ownership of a Volvo (particularly a used one) significantly higher? My friend said he had to do some front end work on his XC90 (it was a high mileage vehicle) and it would have cost him $5k so he traded the car in. There is a local mechanic who specializes in Volvo repair (not a dealer) and I was planning to take my car there if I bought a used S80.