General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Premium needed on S70?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2013, 08:02 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Premium needed on S70?

Recently we purchased a 2002 S60 AWD for my wife to drive. Its been a long time since I owned a Volvo (last was a P544) and I forgot how nice they are to drive. So now I want one. I am lurking about looking for an S70. Do you need premium for an S70. The 2002 manual S60 says that the min octane is 87 AKI. We've been running the 2002 on 89 RON and just finished a 200 mile run at an average speed of 54 MPH. The car averaged 28 MPG. Not bad for a 10 year old all wheel drive and I am happy.

I'm also a Jag driver and even though the manual clearly states Premium gas, there are guys on the forum that have driven their older XJ6 models 200,000 miles on regular gas. A lot depends on drivers driving style.

Anyhow what about the S70. I am a normal driver, not aggressive but not a slacker either.

Old 09-23-2013, 08:58 AM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Do a search, mainly in the owners manual. As you know but did not write, the manual clearly states the 91+ is recommended. Many drive them on 87+. All Volvo cars built after '95 are suppose to use 91+.

The only time you can tell the difference, other than if the fuel economy drops a little, is when you are putting a load on the motor and the car dials back the timing to avoid knock. I read people posting about loosing speed going up hills on the interstate, slow acceleration, poor gas mileage, etc. I have a bad o2 sensor and still get 21 around town and 27 mpg on the freeway. I believe it contributes to burnt vales as well but that's only my opinion.

Old 09-23-2013, 01:41 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Thanks for the reply.

I don't have a manual. I am starting a search to buy the car and I read that the S70 was a good year.