General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Volvo noob, please school me

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2009, 09:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Volvo noob, please school me

Hey guys, like I said in the new member area, i'm new to the game and looking at the C30 and newest generation S40. My main concern for this vehicle is reliability and longevity. My friends have various generation volvo's that date way back and have had different issues with all of them. What I want to know is will the C30 or newest S40's last me as far as drive train goes? which is better with volvos, a auto or manual? I know other parts will wear out like say water pumps and altenators but I'm more concerned with things like head gaskets, oil leaks, and transmission problems. So please, SCHOOL ME!! and thank you

Old 04-03-2009, 05:48 AM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Not up on the newer models...

Well, I'm not up on the newer models, pre-Ford, but I have had several older ones, one purchased new. My favorite to date was the new one, probably because we had history, a '87 740GLE purchased duty free in Japan. When I sold it to a single mom that needed a ride 3 years ago it had over 405k on it. Pretty much looked like it did when new. With very little care these cars can last FOREVER. You will get rid of it because you just want a change, not because you are tired of the problems.