General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

what Volvo is best for me

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2010, 06:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what Volvo is best for me

Hell. I am new here. I am going to buy my daughter(just got her License) a used Volvo. I was thinking of something around the 1998-2001 years. Please give me your recommendations. I am mostly concerned about reliability and repairs. I am a backyard mechanic and work on Fords and Toyotas. I am concerned that I will not be able to repair these vehicle in my driveway. Do I need special tools or equipment. Are some Models more reliable than others etc.......please give me any feedback.thx in advance

Old 04-12-2010, 12:14 PM

please don't be bashful.I will take any feedback you have even if it is negative....maybe I will change my mind and not buy a volvo if it is all negative feedback.........I noticed some others post like mine and no one gave any feedback on those either........ 1 post had 140 views and no comments....I have been on lots of other forums and I would usually get feedback.... I am not sure why no one is posting here.

Old 04-12-2010, 01:18 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

OK, I'll give it a go.

You work on Fords right? Past 2000, Volvo essentially = Ford. My IAC even had a big FORD stamp on it when I took it off to clean. If you are mechanically inclined you can do a lot of work yourself.

I would recommend an early S40 for a first driver. It was my first car and still is. It's got plenty of spunk, but not too much. ABS, DSA, airbags all over, whiplash protection system.

Whatever you do get it checked out first. There are SO many expensive things that can go wrong.

Old 04-12-2010, 01:31 PM