New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself.

Happy to be in rhe community

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2014, 01:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Happy to be in rhe community

Hey, I just picked up a 1995 850 GLT sedan with 154,000 last week. I love it! I'm a novice when it comes to engine work. But, one thing that impressed me was the level of detail the company puts into the design and manufacture of these automobiles. I'm a lower division engineering student. I'm taking a geometrical dimensioning and tolerancing (GD&T) class now... My professor holds Volvo with high regards. GD&T is (in simplified terms) a method of drafting that revolves manufacturing around the fit of assemblies and sub-assemblies. This method allows parts to hold very tight tolerances. One of our supplementary reading material is a GD&T drafting specification that Volvo wrote. I'm positive that every company uses GD&T, but incorporating it into the design rather than just using "decorative" GD&T is better designing and more expensive.
Not to bore anyone. I find this very interesting.
Its great to be here I hope I learn a lot!

Old 03-09-2014, 03:40 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Do you have any pics of the car that you can post?

Old 03-12-2014, 01:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts