New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself.

Howdy !

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2012, 01:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Howdy !

hi everyone, my name is jay , my 1989 240 gl and i are new here. I am a small engine mechanic by trade and late last year needed a car to replace my surprisingly trusty ford explorer, so i bought a SWEET 1992 960 for 2k with 146k on it. well.. i loved that car.it was powerful, comfortable rode like a cadillac and handled like a jetta with rwd ..

.. i'll bet someone here knows why i used the past tense of "love"... yep.. timing belt .. my logic was " i'm over 40, i am a professional mechanic in my field and i can be responsible enough to take such a fine car to the proffessionals who know what theyr'e doing.. well, that was the plan.. until about a month ago when the car started and ran like hell! i put the timing belt as far out of my mind as i could, drove it the few blocks home from my freinds house, shut it off, and when i tried to turn it over again it acted as if the spark plugs had been removed..