New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself.

New member and my first Volvo

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2016, 11:13 PM
RCO
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member and my first Volvo

I inherited. 1999 Volvo S 80 2.9 130000 miles 2 owner car.
Hello everyone out there in the land of Volvo. .I'm born and raised in the great state of Texas,USA. Austin,Texas which is also States Capital.
I got a Volvo really because no one in the family wanted her, she had been sitting outside in the Texas weather untouched, never driven, forgotten ando
being a mechanical engineer I looked over her,the Volvo. I don't see an old junk car i see a awesom car that needs someone to love her.
ingenuity and long hours of hard work she can be the finest ride cruising the hill country of Texas.
She, the S 80 2.9 delivered to my garage.
A few days later I had the engine running and drove her for almost 2 weeks making a list of repairs she needs.
Now in my garage i have her on stands, starting with the front suspension replacing all worn parts struts,tie rods ,all the breaking system (front and rear) engine and transmission has already been checked and parts replaced as needed before being started(spark plugs I pulled looked surprisingly good fuel mixture looks good heat looks good)run a compression test. on cold engine 180 ,175 with # 3 and 4 the lowest.
Anyway coil packs,new plugs,cleaning and fluid flushing and change she fired up and running perfect.
Now I need to replace timing belt,water pump,plus anything more that I might see while during repairs.
I knew nothing about Volvo a month ago now i am reading and learning much as i possibly can. I find Volvo a awesome innovative corporation a leader in the industry.
I have done a lot of work with Audi,VW, and Nissan and the Big three USA auto makers.Chrysler, Chevrolet, Ford .
I also hold 2nd college degree of Automotive Technology ,cars have been an obsession of mine since I was around 10 year's old.