Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Anything Goes.

Cougar entheusiasts?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2010, 09:09 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cougar entheusiasts?

a wierd chance came up the other day. i work in retail, and one of my regular customers came in swearing at his car. he tells me he will be getting rid of his late 80's-early 90's style cougar once he gets cleared for a honda (yes, i tried to get him in a volvo, but he's made up his mind). he offered to sell me his piece of crap for $100.

my nephew becomes driving age at the end of the year, i figured id snag it up, make it safe and give it to him for his first. afterall, the first car is usually a sacrificial lamb anyways, why make it anythingmore than a total crapper.

the guy tells me its overheating with a brand new radiator. my first thoughts is a water pump and thermostat. old ford, cheap fix.

also, it has trouble starting, mostly anything below 50*F, new battery. alternator and selenoid. again, old ford, cheap fix.

then, my dad brought something interesting to mind. i need to check for a cracked head, or head gasket replacement before anything else, there may be a huge underlying issue.

so.... if anybody has had / or currently has one of these, what else could be goin on? i figure if i spend $100, then get a compression test fail, then it wasnt a total waste. ive never owned or worked on a ford car, but ive had a handfull of mid-late 80's cars, so i can get non-major things done in the garage (cracked heads, it'll go in the junkyard)

looks something like this one

http://img138.imageshack.us/i/coug.jpg/
87-90, large square rear quater window
http://www.coolcats.net/welcome/cougarhistory.html

Old 03-01-2010, 11:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i have a generation before that, it depends on alot, is it the 3.8 V6 or is it the 5.0L?