Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Anything Goes.

What engine oil do you use?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 03:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What engine oil do you use?

I was just wondering what oils people were running in their cars, and have you seen any benefits from said oil?

Like I ran Mobil 1 20w50 for the first 5 years of my 850's life (took delivery with 2 miles on the car) and then switched over to BelRay EXL 20w50 motorcycle oil.

Ive been running it in the car for 10 years changing it ever 3k to 3500k,and have had NO major engine issues. Aside from the typical PCV issue.

Oil changes still come out with a dark honey color, never black. Its not breaking down as quick.

Last edited by MattyXXL; 03-20-2011 at 03:53 PM. Reason: typo
Old 03-20-2011, 07:22 PM

Black oil doesn't mean it's breaking down. It means the detergent additives in the oil are doing their job. Oil doesn't really 'breakdown'.

Old 03-20-2011, 09:25 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

I use the Castrol full Synthetic in all of my cars.

Old 03-21-2011, 10:26 AM

Originally Posted by CCampbell0001
Black oil doesn't mean it's breaking down. It means the detergent additives in the oil are doing their job. Oil doesn't really 'breakdown'.
ummmm, you are wrong..

When motor oil is heated beyond a certain temperature, it will start to degrade, even if there is no oxygen present. This is called thermal degradation and causes the oil to change viscosity (a form of oil breakdown). The thermal stability of motor oil cannot be improved by use of additives but it can be improved by refining out the same compounds that decrease the oxidation resistance.

Not all oils are detergent oils.

Think about it, look at the consistancy of your oil when you put in, and when you drain it.. C'mon Really?

Old 03-21-2011, 08:24 PM

Originally Posted by MattyXXL
ummmm, you are wrong..