1986 240 DL Wagon - too big of a project?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2012, 02:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1986 240 DL Wagon - too big of a project?

Hi - I'm new here, since I just stumbled onto my first official Volvo ownership yesterday. I would just like to know if maybe I'm biting off more than I should even try to chew.

I inherited a 1986 240 DL station wagon. I am a low-level novice when it comes to car stuff, but I'm willing to learn, so I was really hoping to 'learn' on this vehicle.

The problem is that 1. I don't have a lot of funds (grad student), so while I hope to save money doing a lot of my own labor, if I need a bunch of expensive parts, it probably won't work; and 2. I do need transportation, so if the car needs a great deal of work I will probably have to give it up and pass it on.

I've done a bunch of research since I got it and here is what I know.

1. It does run. But after about five minutes it starts jerking, surging, and revving badly. In park it will rev super high, then low, back and forth. When driving it will jerk forward even while braking, to sometimes a scary amount. While it does this, the oil light flickers on and off constantly, usually in tune with the surging.

2. The shifter (it's an automatic) has a lot of play and sometimes lands in between different gears, you have to pull past the one you want then slide forward into it.

3. There is a good-sized coolant leak, around the area of the water pump; seems to be a loose hose but really the liquid is everywhere and has been for a long time by the looks of it.

4. At least one mount is probably broken because as the engine revs it moves back and forth a lot.

5. The caps to one of the reservoirs (back of engine, driver's side) is missing.